begin audio session; lecture 4, part 1:

Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven: Haydn's 104th Symphony

Beginning the fourth lecture, Dr. Broyles told the audience that they had already learned the fundamentals. Now they would listen to several pieces in sonata form, including works by Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. These compositions would demonstrate the range of expression possible within the sonata form.

"We'll start first with a symphony of Haydn--the very last symphony that he wrote, which is number one hundred and four. This is sometimes referred to as the London Symphony because he wrote it to be performed in London when he was a visiting superstar."

"The first movement is fairly straightforward sonata form," said Dr. Broyles, and began his analysis of the compositional structure and elements of this piece.

[continue lecture]

Go To Subject Index

Audio Questions and Footnotes

Audio Glossary

  • Comments or suggestions to IMS.
  • Internet Multicasting Service Home Page.